BWI to STEC

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by rookie@34, Apr 8, 2013.

1. rookie@34 New Member

Ratings: +0 / 0
    hello all, i am a rookie when it comes to fly fishing and i want to learn it bad. Here in the east we dont' really have much and i am not much of a bay fisherman. i like fresh water n we just don't have it very many around here. Luck had it that i happened to marry a girl who lived in seattle area not originally from there but her parents live there now. Fast forward, i am visiting parents-in-laws from the 10th april to the 17th and i can't wait to try out fly fishing there but the question is where do i go. whats the best place for me? I wanna go for steelhead. what kind of flies should i have. I would be really really grateful towards the seahawks nation if anyone of you could help me out here and make this one of few dreams come true.
    Thanks again.
  2. Salmo_g Active Member

Your City ,State
    Ratings: +1,390 / 0
    Rookie,

Welcome. There are a lot of options for fly fishing within a few hours' drive of Seattle. There are significantly fewer when you time your visit between April 10 - 17. If you want to try fly fishing for steelhead, you'll need to go to the west end Olympic peninsula rivers as they are just about the only ones open through April 15. After that you're even more limited. The Sol Duc is open for spring chinook and early summer steelhead then. BTW, expect very crowded fishing conditions for each remaining day of the season, provided the rivers are in shape to fish, because you're not the only one who wants to get in on whatever action remains this season. The runs are well past their peaks.

Alternatively, the Cowlitz in SW WA is open to steelheading, but it's been slow there this winter.