canon EOS 50D

Discussion in 'Photography / Video' started by Michael Thompson, May 11, 2009.

1. Michael Thompson

Michael Thompson the flavor of BADFISH

Home Page:
    just picked one up and totally love it, its way more of camera than i am a photographer but i wanted something i could grow into.

2. Michael Thompson

Home Page:
    so far the only gripes i have about it are that in most applications you cant disable the flash. and in most apps you cant use the lcd screen as view finder. it only shows pics after they are taken, but both of those problems stem from me being used to my tard friendly camera and not getting used to this one

3. Chris Scoones

Chris Scoones Administrator Staff Member

Media:
    You saying the 50D doesn't have live view? Thought it did?

4. atomic dog

atomic dog Jive Turkey

Media:
    What do you mean you can't disable the flash? Are you shooting in the auto setting? If so, try using Av, Tv, or manual. That'll give you control of the flash.

5. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Media:
    It does. But in live view, the mirror locks up and the shutter cycles open. Every exposure made using it takes two cycles of mirror and shutter meaning twice as much wear and tear.

K

6. Michael Thompson

Home Page:
    you cant disable the flash in a lot of the settings, there is actually one setting on the dial that is dedicated to no flash. so far when i have used this thing it does use a lot of discretion as to when the flash goes off, meaning it doesnt flash every time you take a pic
    but only when there needs to be some extra light to get rid of deep shadows.

7. Josh

Josh dead in the water

Media:
    Are you sure about that Kent? That isn't the way my 5DMkII works with live view. Once you are into live view, the mirror only goes up and down if you are resetting focus. You can take photos all day long without it happening.