Carp fly advice

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by oldskool, Apr 20, 2010.

1. I'm a rookie when it comes to the carp and would love some help. I've read a couple books, watched vids and tried my hand at it to little success. I spot fish, don't spook but my flies/retrieve seems to be the problem. They come check out my fly, then turn away. I've only got a few but would like to get more hook-ups. Best re-starter fly?

Any help would be great. Thanx!

2. I to have had the same problem (if ya call not getting a hookup a problem)
    The carp move right over to my fly then turn away.
    I've used small woolly buggers and scuds, mini leaches, and other nymphs?

3. slow slow and slower retrieve

4. I'll post some pics when I get home... At school, sorry...

5. Ya, Dustin I hear what you're say'n. It took me awhile before I figured that one out. I got the retrieve down (I think), it's the fly (again, I think). I spot fish to them so I can tell if they are interested, but they come up real close then turn away. I tried giving the fly a twitch, nothing. Everything that I've read suggests that if they move towards the fly "get ready" for the take. It's gotta be the fly.....I think.

6. Carp are a very intelegent fish. They also have a very sensitive sense of smell. So if you have handled anything and tranfered that smell to your flies, forget it! Cigarettes, sunscreen, anything. BTDT. I got to where I kept a small container of borax and a towel in the car.