carpin' with the fly

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by flyfishnm, Aug 21, 2002.

1. flyfishnm

flyfishnm Member

Media:
    I was just wondering if anyone else is interested in fly fishing for carp. I have been fishing for them for over 2 years, but have found limited resources on the subject. I have read the book entitled "Carp on the fly". I found it a bit informative but they listed some of the tactics i found myself. i have used many different flies, from homemade polyester cotton flies to beetles. There is nothing more of a rush than catching a 27 inch carp of the surface with a hand tied fly with a 8 foot 3 weight. Carp fishing can get quite hard, and they get pickier than most trout i have seen. Has anyone else experienced my joy of carp on the fly? :WINK
    i think you will enjoy it.

~Ryan

2. Paul Huffman

Paul Huffman Lagging economic indicator

Media:
    Home Page:
    This summer I've been spending a ridiculous amount of time annoying the carp between Lyle and Bingen on the Columbia. The Klickitat's been muddy and the Yakima's too high, so that's where I've been. I read the book and I got advice from the Blue Dun shop in Spokane. Now I know to ignore the fish sunbathing over deep water. They're snoozing, not feeding. When you find them wandering the flats in loose pods, occasionally tailing, puffing mud, that's when it's just like sight casting to bonefish.

I tried the "clouser swimming nymph" from the "Carp on the Fly" book, but my ties landed with too much ker-ploop, and spooked them. I'm using a fly recommended by the Blue Dun: a black woolly worm with grizzly hackle, #8 2x long, heavy, weighted on the front. This lands softer and still has enough sink rate to get right in front of the nose of a tailer, even though it's less imitative.