Casting a versatip floater help. ????

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Panhandle, Jul 11, 2006.

1. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

Media:
    First off I want to say that I'm a beginner with the two hander. I have a 14ft 8 FLI with a windcutter versa tip. I was out yesterday getting instruction with a guy using the skagit system on a type 8 tip. My question is, I was able to cast and feel the load with his set up, but was unable to do so with my floating tip. Where does the floater load at? is it with a little bit of the green body line out, or is somewhere in the belly of the floater/yellow line. and should it be easier to cast a floater? I do have alot of experience casting single hander tips, so I'm real comfortable in that respect. What do you think or know? any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. twohander

twohander New Member

what wt line do u have for your rod?
    how long of a leader are u using with the floater?
    with the wind cutter u want the head out of your tip...sometimes for beginner casters a heavier line is better so they can feel the load of the rod.

3. Panhandle

Panhandle Active Member

Media:
    Its the 8/9/10- I'm using a amnesia butt, tapered 9ft- 20/15/8 maxima. I was told shortening the belly may help?

4. bconrad

bconrad Member

I'd use a longer leader. For a floating line, the leader should be approximately the length of the rod. This will help you set the anchor without completely lifting the line off of the water. If the line comes off the water, the rod will unload, and you won't be able to complete the forward stroke properly.

Another thing that really helped me is breaking the cast down into steps. Start with the rod tip right at the water, then the steps are as follows: lift, sweep (always ascending!), secondary lift, forward stroke.