Cedar Report, and first post.....and "one that got away" story.......

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by tinman207, Jul 24, 2013.

1. tinman207 Active Member

Ratings: +157 / 0
    Hi folks!

I have been a long time lurker and finally decided to join and say hi! I am down in Renton and frequent the Cedar and the forks of the Sno. I have been dabbling with fly fishing for 20 years or so, and am mainly a nymph man.
    I went down to the Cedar today to one of my old favorite spots and decided to try it early before the inner-tubes start coming through. I haven't been out this year because I have been back in school, so I was digging through my pack and could only find 3x tapered leaders from my last trip up north, or some fragile 7x tapered leaders from a small spring creek I was fishing with a 2 weight last year. I put the 7x on figuring I would be chasing all the little rainbow left after the poachers hit these pools pretty hard.
    I was on the water at about 7:30 am, trying for some surface action with a para-adams. There was no surface activity, so I put on a stonefly and a prince nymph dropper, which is a usual combination I do well with on the Cedar. I made a couple casts into a run behind a pile of rocks, trying to rediscover my ability to get a good dead drift after such a long break from fishing. A feisty 15" bow hammered the prince nymph on my second cast through the softwater on the near side of the current seam. It felt good, and I could have been satisfied for the day being back on the water and brought a great fish to hand.