Centerpin

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by candr, Aug 3, 2012.

1. candr

candr Daryl

It's not flyfishing but.... I've been flyfishing since I was 5 years old - never really gear fished at all. Most guys I fish with (at least the good steelhead flyfishers) have a solid gear background - it helps that they read water really well based on the gear experience.
    I've been fishing a two handed rod for about 10 years now and I love swinging a fly. There is lots of water that is best fished dead drift and I've never really got into indicator fishing with a single hand or spey rod for steelhead. I grew up on Vancouver Island and my family fished centerpins for steelhead pretty much exclusively and I do like the tradition and history of centerpin fishing for steelhead on the west coast. Sooooo I just bought a Gloomis centerpin rod and an Islander (IS) reel and all of the gear I will need to get started. I plan on tying my own jigs/nymphs/globugs etc. I will probably carry both a spey and my pin rod on some days and swing through a run and then go through at the end with the pin rod. Some water I would only run through with the centerpin if it doesn't lend itself to the swing.
    I think I am doing this backwards (going from fly to gear) but I'm interested in thoughts on pinning as opposed to beads under an indicator on a spey rod etc (and if anyone else is thinking of going this route or has gone this route - I would love some tips).

2. Dolly Bull

Dolly Bull New Member

I started fishing a center pin this year and love it. I carry my two handed and my pin everywhere I go. Indicator fishing with a two handed seems weird to me. I have had my best Steelhead year ever and most of those fish were on a center pin.

TallFlyGuy likes this.
  3. PfleugerPhister

PfleugerPhister Active Member