chums

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by flyflinger, Oct 26, 2002.

1. flyflinger New Member

puyallup, washington, united states.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    i went exploring today and found some good fishing waters. Mission creek has a good number of chromer chums off the creek mouth and sherwood creek has lots of fish. I have some questions though, i am new to salmon fly fishing and i was wondering how you retrieve your flies and what line you need (floating, sinking). Also I investigated coulter creek and found a no tespassing sign below the bridge, has that been there long. Also minter is empty of chums at low-tide at the hatchery there was only one school of silvers below the gate. Any information of maybe more spots to try and techniques would be appriciated. I hope to see some of you out there I like to see people with respect for fish.
  2. Greg Member

Gig Harbor, WA, U.S.A.
    Ratings: +13 / 0
    Did you see a flyfisher at Sherwood Creek between 0930-1230? Maybe a dark blue 2001 Explorer Sport Trac with an American flag flying from the antenna? That would have been me. C&R'd three in that time-frame. Chum like rising tides...if you caught Minter at low tide or several hours after the ebb began, you were there too late but remember, the fishery doesn't open until 11/01. Fish Minter (and most other locales) 2-3 hours before the peak flood or into about an hour after the ebb starts.

I like the Rio VersiTip lines for this "close to shore" type of fishing although others manufacture multi-tip lines as well. It works in cold waters well and gives the flyfisher a lot of flexibility.

Retrieve? Vary it according to the type fly you're using. Fly I was using closely resembled the one Sparse Grey Hackle described in a thread a day or two ago on this site.

Say hello next time. I guess that washingtonflyfishing.com logo would have been useful today.

Greg
  3. topflight121 Josh Pearson

Richland, WA