Clack vs. Hyde??

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Panhandle, Nov 22, 2007.

1. Panhandle Active Member

Selkirk Mountains, Idaho Panhandle
    Ratings: +23 / 0
    My wife gave me the go ahead on a boat today. The selling point is the family aspect of floating down the river with the kids in the summer. :rofl:

Admittedly, I’m an amateur on the sticks, and really lean towards the Clack because they look cool, and have the tunnel hull... if that even makes a difference.

Why shouldn't I buy a Clack, or why should I buy a Hyde? Thanks.
  2. Jeremy Floyd fly fishing my way through life

Quesnel, BC
    Ratings: +318 / 0
    I like aluminum. Just my preference though.
  3. prosopium Member

a thousand miles from nowhere
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    pan-

my preference is clackacraft, have had two of them and liked both, but if you want to know everyone else's opinion try the search function on this site, you will find that this topic has been discussed numerous times, good luck and congrats on getting your wife to allow the purchase
  4. Chris Bentsen Member

Sammamish, wa, USA.
    Ratings: +17 / 0
    You cant go wrong with either one. It is personal preference. Try each one out before buying. Then you will know which one you like.
  5. Panhandle Active Member

Good point. I'll use the search function. No need to reply and revisit a subject covered many times.
  6. Jake Bannon nymphs for steelhead....

puget sound
    I too like aluminum boats, we have an aluminum koffler and its hit a couple rocks that I dont think a fiberglass boat could stand up to. Though it really depends on where your taking it, I had noticed that your located in Idaho so I cant specify the rivers that you planned on fishing.

-Jake
  7. Ringlee Doesn't care how you fish Moderator

Somewhere you don't know about, WA
    Ratings: +53 / 1
    I have a Hyde High side. I really like it. I have rowed several aluminum boats, but never any Clackacrafts.