Couple of likely flies?

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by wannafish, Mar 24, 2014.

1. wannafish

wannafish In search of Blinky...

I'm pretty new to the stillwater fishing game. On the first week of April, we're going to be headed out on a tour of various E. WA lakes for my vacation/kids spring break. I'll have the 12' boat and float tube and I have a lot of spots earmarked to check out.

What would be some good and somewhat easy to tie flies that might be productive for these fisheries? I'm just looking for some "good to have in the box" type of offerings to add to my arsenal for this type of fishing. I'll mostly be fishing the basin lakes.

2. Olive bugger

Olive bugger Active Member

Olive buggers in sizes 10 and 12.

Gold rib hare's ear

Adams (perhaps a bit early but I live on the wet side so I
    so not know what is hatching.

Patrick Gould likes this.
  3. zen leecher aka bill w

zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Media:
    Toni,

Which lakes are you considering? The standard woolly buggers would be a good starting point in black, olive and maroon colors. Not sure where you are at for fly fishing ability but chironomids are very useful around April 1st. I'm sure others will chime in.

4. Olive bugger

Pheasant tail nymphs and Baetis

5. ryfly

ryfly Addicted to flyfishing

Ice cream cones in red, san juan worms, and don't forget the damselfly nymphs.

6. troutpocket

troutpocket Active Member

Media:
    Some simple to tie, effective stuff for the basin: Olive willy, simiseal leeches (black/red, maroon, olive/brown, olive/burnt orange), pheasant tail and hare's ear nymphs. If you fish vertical, bring the chironomids.

Have intermediate and fast sink lines for trolling and casting/stripping. Floating lines and indicators for vertical presentation.

7. Irafly

Irafly Active Member

Media: