Do it yourself vs. factory rod

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by TANGLES, Jan 8, 2004.

1. Just got another fly fishing catalog in the mail and it took me a while to catch my breath after seeing the prices of some of the rods. I want to upgrade but would have to sell one of the kids to get one of those rods. Can they really be that much better? So, I checked out building a rod, thinking I could go up in quality and save a little money. What I want to know from this experienced group is whether you really do get more rod for your money by building it yourself, or, by the time all is said and done, does it work out about the same as getting a factory rod? I know I'd do a good job but I'm no professional.

2. I guess it all depends on the difference in price between the rod and blank. Keep in mind that a reelseat, handle, guides, thread , and epoxy will add up. Also. Most blanks don't come with a tube or sock. I built one this summer and it campe out to the same price as a factory rod. I did upgrade the components a bit though. Look at the cost of parts vs. the difference in price. Lastly, warranties on blanks usually replace the blank if you break it, but you have to rebuild it so keep that in mind.
    -Thomas

3. Was it the Cabela's fly fishing catalog? I got it too and was thinking, more tempted really, of getting a Loomis GL3 blank that comes with every to make it(giuds, epoxy, handel, grip, thread, etc.) The price range was what caught me. For the blank only the pice was between $100-$130. For the kit and blank the price was between $120-$150. That's over $100 cheaper! I'm really tempted by the 9' 6wt...