Does this make sense?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Jordan Simpson, Sep 19, 2012.

1. Since I'm still pretty new to the whole two-hand game, I'm trying to figure out a line set up that is versatile yet still low-ish in cost.
    Does this make sense:
    reel-->backing-->slickshooter-->head (skagit/scandi)-->tip (floating, inter,etc.)-->leader-->fly.

Since I can't afford a skagit versatip systerm AND a Scandi Versatip system, would it make sense to have just the two heads (a Skagit and a Scandi) and then the tips?

2. Almost...substitute leader for 3'-4' of tippet and you're golden. No need for a full length leader.

Also, I use different tips depending on the skagit or scandi head that I have on. Skagit heads will give you more ability to throw heavier level tips (T-14, etc.); where as with the scandi head, you will not be able to turn over the heavy stuff. I use Polyleaders while fishing my scandi set ups.

speyfisher and fredaevans like this.
  3. +1 to what Steffan just said.Only thing I'd add is get a shooting line with a 'loop to loop' connector at the business end. That way all you have to do is swap heads, which are a heck of a lot cheaper than a full line.
    fae

4. Another option is to get a line like the Airflo Tactical steelhead head, which comes with a floating tip, that you can remove and use moderate tips with it.

You do have the option of going with a Skagit head and buying a MOW flating tip (or other floating tip, or making one)

Another option would be to go with a Scandi head and cutting it back so you can throw tips on it, while keeping the floating tip, looping it yourself, and switching to the floater or tips when needed. That way you dont have to buy a Scandi short Versitip system - which sound very cool but are quite a bit more expensive than a shooting head. But you can get the replacement tips for about 17$ and they are great, and you could get by with 1, maybe 2 instead of all 4.