Drift boat vs raft?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Alchemist, Jul 29, 2010.

1. Alchemist New Member

Willamette Valley, OR
    Ratings: +2 / 0
    I am looking for some advice from some of the knowledgeable people here with driftboat and raft experience:
    I have owned a succession of 1 man pontoon boats, and love them. The problem is that I have two kids who I would love to take out on the water in the next 5 years, and a father in his mid sixties who can’t wade like he used to. I am therefore looking at a larger vessel for fishing 2 people plus a rower. I have been looking at a series of 16’ driftboats, and raft+frame solutions (NRS otter+ frame, etc.). While I have some DB experience, I have never fished a raft of this class before. I fish mostly on med size Willamette tribs and smaller coastal watersheds. Typical water is class II with the occasional class III feature thrown in. Day trips are most common, but I would eventually like to do some light multi-day trips with the kids. My questions are as follows:

1) Based on these factors, as well as more general issues, what are the relative merits of a driftboat versus a raft?

2) What are your must-have features in a driftboat? In a raft?

Thanks
  2. Rick Todd Active Member

Ferndale/Winthrop
    Ratings: +237 / 0
    Driftboat-easier to row and maneuver, more room inside and somewhat easier to stand up in, harder to launch (or need a better launch) more subject to rocks.
    Raft-Harder to row, but more forgiving about rowing into rocks etc. Better for rougher/rockier rivers. Hope that helps, Rick
  3. veilside180sx Member

Hillsboro, OR
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    Most of those Mid Valley rivers are super rocky, which aren't my favorite candidates for a drift boat. Have you considered a larger cat, like a 14 ft?
  4. Ed Call Mumbling Moderator

Kitsap Peninsula
    Ratings: +1,359 / 9