Drift Boats

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Gonzo, Apr 10, 2005.

1. Gonzo

Gonzo New Member

Any one have any advise for where a rookie with a drift boat to can cut his teeth? Lower Yak maybe, the upper might be a little tricky for a greenhorn. :beathead:

2. mr trout

mr trout Trevor Hutton

Media:
    I started learning to row in the lower canyon from bighorn on down. That was the first I had ever pulled oars on a drift boat, so if you are careful/observant, I would say you are ok. Of course, Have someone along who knows what they are doing to rescue you and give you tips and experience too. - Trevor

3. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Best thing to do is go to a lake first if you've never rowed a driftboat before. Just row backwards (since you'll mostly be rowing back in rivers, never really pushing the boat forward). Get a feel for how the boat responds with one oar over the other. Learn how the boat reacts counter oaring (pulling one oar while pushing the other). Once you've spent some time on a lake, then bring it to a river. I've rowed the Yak a few times. But mostly when I was alot younger. So haven't had a boat on it in years. But there are plenty of mellow rivers around the westside to just test it out. Plus, with most rivers closing down, you will have river to yourself. So can just cruise and get a feel for the boat. I'd also suggest having someone with you who knows what they're doing, and KNOWS the river you plan to float for the first time. Will help alot.

4. Gonzo

Gonzo New Member

Thanks for the advise I think a little lake time would be a good thing see you out there

5. Davy

Davy Active Member

Media:
    I 3rd 4th and fifth the lake idea,.