drift boats

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by twistaround, Aug 28, 2002.

1. twistaround

twistaround New Member

Have any of you guys ever built a wood drift boat before? Would like to know any pros or cons on the kits vs. the plans. how much would a trailer run me? Are these boats high maintainance and heavy? Im a carpenter by trade and have a college degree in carpentry so the woodwork should be no problem. Im new to drift boats and cant really afford to shell out like 5 grand for the one i want. any help or advice would be gratefully appreciated.

thanks alot,
    nate

2. SpeyRodBeBop

SpeyRodBeBop Member

Hello Twistaround. I haven't built a drift boat, but I built a stitch and tape flyfishing pram two years ago. I'm a clutz, but I found it so easy that I am considering a drift boat. Check some web sites on home built boats--It really is as easy as it looks.

3. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    posted this on your ad page as well

My Dad and I used to build our own little "prams", DB's, and saltwater boats growing up. The saltwater boats where more wood with homemade fiberglassing done. But we did DB's and prams soley out of wood.
    Here's pro's and con's from my point.

Pro's. You build yourself. It's your baby and noone else has their fingers in production, it's the boat YOU want. They're extremely beautiful if you go to point of actually glazing/clear coating the wood.

Con's. They are high upkeep. You have to keep your eyes on them. Especially on the seams. They're extremely heavy. And rocks aren't friendly to them (if you fish the coastal rivers, you'll scrape/tag at least one rock in your career). Best kept in garage when not in use.

May be more, kind of tired working hours I am. I'd say go for it, it's a work of the heart.

Steelheader69
    "You haven't lived until you've run a cataraft. Friends don't let friends run Outcasts."

4. twistaround

twistaround New Member