Dry flies/hatch help

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Gdesch, Nov 18, 2013.

1. Gdesch New Member

Carnation, Wa
    Ratings: +1 / 0
    I am pretty new to fly fishing and am lucky to live right next to, with access to, a private lake in east King County. I have regularly been getting into some pretty good rainbows pulling streamers with a sinking leader on floating line. The other evening I noticed a hatch going on and saw a couple of rises. I switched out to my normal leader and threw some small elk hair caddis and parachute Adams flies (being new I only have a couple of dry flies making the choice easier) Well I got no love off of these flies. Any tips on what might be hatching right now and what I might throw for some surface action?

Thanks!

Greg
  2. Irafly Active Member

Everett, Washington, USA.
    Ratings: +1,033 / 1
    Midges are the only thing that will be hatching right now. Although you might also see fish rising to ovipositing females or dying males and females. You have several options for flies. Try soft hackles, emergers, adult female ovipositors, or adults. If you manage to figure it out let the rest of us know. Those evening rises can at times on lakes be very difficult to figure out.
  3. Lue Taylor Lue Taylor/dbfly

auburn,wa
    Ratings: +75 / 9
    Ty on a Emerger have no idea Google it plenty of choices try to match whatever coming off
  4. triploidjunkie Active Member

Grand Coulee, WA
    Ratings: +1,255 / 0
    How big are your parachute adams? In smaller sizes they can work fairly well as a midge emerger. Anymore I use a small softhackle in those situations. Cast into the rise ring and make very small, very short strips. Just enough to get movement from the hackles.
  5. Scott Salzer previously micro brew

Ratings: +201 / 0
    I'd second the emerger but would also suggest that you also look to triploidjunkie's suggestion.
  6. Gdesch New Member

Carnation, Wa