Dry Flies

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by guest, Mar 6, 2002.

1. guest

guest Guest

I have been flyishing for about three years. In that time, I have fished all of my local waters which are lakes, and a few of the more notable flyfishing only destinations. I can count on my two hands the number of times I have used dry flies succesfully. I have qlways fished intermediates and full sink lines. Now that I intend to spend more time in eastern washington, I'd like to catch some fish on dry flies. What Five or so patterns are the basis for a beginner dry fly fisherman? Obviously I could spend a thousand dollars on different variations. What do you recommend as the basics? :CONFUSED

2. pwrbatrhatr

pwrbatrhatr New Member

Ah, a question I can answer!

Elk Hair Caddis, Humpy, and any simple hackle fly that suits your fancy. If it's really hot and you're looking for big browns in the moonlight, a double humpy is easier on the eyes and seems just as juicy to the fish.

When I say "simple" hackle fly, I mean SIMPLE! One year we caught hundreds of fish on a #12 or #14 brown hackle fly with yellow floss body and the tip of a hackle feather for a tail. As long as it would float the drift, the trout would nail it. You can use an Adams, a mosquito, or a dry Renegade.

I try to keep several flies in the 12 to 16 range and a couple larger Humpy patterns... just in case I forget to go home when the sun goes down. I'd say a #12 is the most common choice because it's small enough to look like a bug, but not so small you go cross-eyed staring at a riffle.

:THUMBSUP

3. fishnfella

fishnfella New Member

Fish till ya drop.
    Then suck it up
    and fish the evening hatch.

Well, You're right, the dry fly fishing around most of our lakes sucks. As to flies, I recommend these 5 as necessary:
    1. a size 16-18 Mosquito or Adams
    2. a quality adult Damsel pattern
    3. a size 14-16 Calabaetis spinner
    4. a size 14-16 Calabaetis Dunn pattern