Dry fly necks

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by troutpocket, Jul 5, 2004.

1. troutpocket Active Member

Ellensburg, WA
    Ratings: +335 / 0
    I've been tying for around 6 months and would like to get into dries. I've focussed on nymphs/leeches/streamers to this point. I don't have loads of $$ to throw at hackle. I'm looking at two options through cabelas: the Metz multi-packs at around $30 for three small patches of hackle (around 300 feathers total in three colors) or the cabelas full dry fly necks at $20/ea.

Has anyone used the cabelas necks and what did you think of them? Is it worth the extra $$ to use Metz/Whiting/Keough necks?

Thanks,
    Rod
  2. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,731 / 0
    I have bought the quarter saddle by Whiting. There are enough feathers there to keep you going for a long time. I've had mine about three years now and it is only half used. I also buy some of the cheaper ones because those feathers are just a little bigger. For Wooly Buggers.

The quarter saddle's run about $15.00 to $18.00,depends where you buy them at.. And are sized to the size of the fly you want to tie. Just a thought.

Jim
  3. Tim Cottage Formerly tbc1415

Outer Duvall
    Ratings: +249 / 1
    >Is it worth the extra $$ to use
    >Metz/Whiting/Keough necks?

In a word. Yes. Given the astounding improvements through a focused genetic program the lowly chicken has been transformed into a feather factory aimed straight at the fly tier.
    It is important to remember that it is no longer necessary to purchase necks to get the qualities that you want. The best bang for the buck is now in saddles. As indicated by Old Man saddles can be purchased in quarters, halves and whole.