Dutch Oven Ham

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by TD, Nov 17, 2012.

1. TD

TD Active Member

I've got a craving for a good sweet bark ham! Anyone have a proven recipe they care to share? Here is what I've come up with but I've no experience cooking ham so I'm not real confident. Any suggestions are welcome:

12" Dutch Oven:
    About a 3lbs pre diamond cut ham
    Cloves stuffed into the cuts
    Cover with Honey
    Then cover with this dry rub:
    2 cups Brown Sugar
    2 Tbsp Salt
    1 Tbsp Crushed Black Pepper
    2 tsp Chili Pepper

I want it to cook slow. so I was thinking 8 coals under and 12 coals on top.

Thoughts?

stilly stalker likes this.
  2. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

3. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Sounds about right. Score the ham first.

4. Patrick Gould

Patrick Gould Active Member

I've never done a ham, but have cooked many briskets and pork buts, and usually get a nice bark on the pork.

A couple of things that I'm skeptical of.

-It seems like you're doing a hybrid between an bark and a glaze.
    - I've never heard of pouring honey on the meat prior to cooking.
    -it seems like you might have too much sugar in the dry rub recipe.
    -For a glazed ham you can score the meat, but if you're going for a dark crust you might want to just leave it uncut.
    -Fat is an important part of the formation of the crust, so if the ham is lean you might end up adding some butter or something like that.

5. Jerry Daschofsky