Duwamish Coho

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by 7x, Sep 8, 2001.

1. 7x

7x New Member

I was flyfishing the Duwamish from a canoe for many Coho that were hitting the surface but couldn't intice one to take. :(

The surface action was amazing!, however I didn't see any anglers take any fish.

I was fishing a orange/white clouser and pink/white. There was no indication these Salmon were taking baitfish. I didn't see one baitfish break the surface.

Any idea what this surface activity is and what they're feeding on?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tight lines

2. skeith5

skeith5 New Member

Home Page:
    I believe that the Green/Duwamish is closed until Sept 15th on the lower portion, October 1st on the upper sections...

Yep, I've got the regs here... It closed Aug 15th... or July 30th depending on if you were below the 277th bridge or above it....

SHAME ON YOU!!!!:OO

3. ChrisW

ChrisW AKA Beadhead

I am not an expert in this area but my experience tells me that many salmon when hitting fresh water for the 1st time will dispaly significant surface activity. They are most likely not feeding. They are are going through quite a physiological change in adapting to fresh water, their bodies have to start retaining salt instead of expelling it, and their scales become much tighter. Perhaps it just tickles?? Or perhaps they are so excited to reach their home waters that they are celebrating? I have seen this up on the sky, the lower stilly and even with sockeye in Lk Wash. In this case people were catching fish at 40- 80' depth. The surfacing fish were not likely to bite.
    I have heard that river Coho are very hard to catch on a fly. Most people that fish for them use bait :-(
    Quite a change from a few weeks earlier when they are feeding voraciously:9
    I don't know how salty the Duwamish is were you fished... maybe the very smell of fresh water turns the bite off. Perhaps an incoming tide would be the best.

good luck any way

Chris W