Early August Oregon Steelhead...

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by jonrue, Apr 22, 2006.

1. jonrue

jonrue a life in the day of...

Media:
    I'm going fishing for a couple of days just before I get hitched in early August in Eugene, OR.

I'm looking at either the Deschutes or the North Umpqua for steelhead, but I've only fished them a few times. Does anyone have suggestions? I don't want to spend half my time driving, so anything within a few hours drive. I'd appreciate any help; think of it as an early wedding present.

Cheers,

Jon

2. East Fork

East Fork Active Member

Media:
    The North Umpqua in August is a dawn and dusk show for steelhead. I'm not an expert on this stream by any means but that's my experience. The main stem is a GREAT small mouth stream and hours closer then the Deschutes so might want to consider a different plan. The Deschutes in early Augest? Watch the counts over the Dalles Dam to see if its worth the drive. My guess is it will not be.

3. Keith Hixson

Keith Hixson Active Member

Early August Should be great for Summer Runs up the N. Umpqua East of Roseburg. I had a guide we went to the fly fishing only area on the N. Umpqua. Great fly fishing is just starting in August on the Upper N. Umpqua. Be sure to wear cleats because the lava rock is slick. Check in at the local fly shops in Roseburg. That's pretty close to Eugene area.

K.

4. Steelie Mike

Steelie Mike Active Member

Media:
    Home Page: