Favorite PFD?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Matthew Gulbranson, Feb 21, 2012.

1. Matthew Gulbranson Resident Swinger

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +47 / 0
    I'm new to the fabulous world of floating down the river in search of our finned friends.

My question to you all is, "what is your favorite PFD for floating and fishing?" Do you use a type V to compensate for your waders? I've found that when rowing, a more normal style PFD interferes with my rowing stroke. Also, if I have anything in my pockets of my rain jacket, I tend to bulk out very quickly since I'm not quite a toothpick. I would love to hear your opinions!!

Thanks! :beer1:
  2. WABOWMAN Active Member

Port Townsend,WA
    Ratings: +31 / 0
    Atomatic Inflatable PFD
  3. Jim Wallace Smells like low tide

Somewhere on the Coast
    Ratings: +544 / 0
    I have an NRS "Chinook," which is a kayak fishing vest. I bought it on sale at a good price that was cheaper than the other alternatives I was considering at the time I got it. (Some of the others were as good or better, but also more expensive).
    It is comfortable for both paddling and rowing. Has plenty of pockets, so I can carry a couple of small fly boxes, leaders, tippet, tools and a knife and still have room for stashing a Cliff Bar. It is infinitely better than the cheap "comfort vest" that I used to wear.
  4. Freestone Not to be confused with freestoneangler

Ratings: +1,208 / 0
    I only use inflatable PFD's on still water, never rivers. (Do a search them and why, lots of posts in the past) If you wanted more floatation than normal Type 3's (about 15 lbs), look for a Type 3 with 22 - 28 lbs of bouyancy. I just bought one with 22 lbs for white water and it is fairly comfortable.