First Drift Boat - Thoughts & Questions

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by mplutodh1, Oct 11, 2009.

1. mplutodh1

mplutodh1 Member

Media:
    For several years now I have fantasized about one day owning a drift boat, something to take out for a relaxing day on the water with my dad or a fishing buddy and maybe even bring the pup along.

I'm no expert fly fisherman, head out a few times a year but have plenty of obligations that typically keep me from getting out as frequently as I'd like. Regardless - I like to take advantage of the time I do have on the water and have taken a liking to floats.

I don't have a small fortune to get my dream but - rather just considering getting a starter / first boat in the not too distant future. Thinking of keeping my eye out for a used wooden boat that could use some TLC - always liked the looks of a nice wood boat.

A few things I'd love folks advice on:

Wood Boats
    • Are they that much work?
    • Are they really as fragile as many like to make them out to be?
    • Do you have to store them indoors? If not, what should I know about storing it outside?

Other Questions
    • Is a 16' good for 2-3 guys? Will likely almost always have just 2 of us on the boat
    • For Northwest waters - what should I look for in a boat?
    • For the inexperienced rower (I'd take a class from someone like Red's has before taking it out) what are the best waters around the Northwest? Ideally driving distance from the Seattle area.
    • Anyone have suggestions on where to look for used boats besides Craigslist?

Any other advice or thoughts would be great. I've done a lot of reading in this section and plan to do more.

Thanks folks!
    -Matt

2. DaMurph

DaMurph Member