First Post - TFO BVK 9' 5 wt

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by SHigSpeed, Feb 13, 2014.

1. SHigSpeed

SHigSpeed Active Member

Hi all,

Though I've been building rods on and off for the last 25 years, this is the first time posting to this forum.

9' 5 wt BVK kit purchased from Angler's Habitat for a great deal. The cork is really nice for the price, and it's pre-reamed to fit for a quick build.

Burnt orange nylon thread, no CP. Gunsmoke seat hardware, hook keeper, stripper, and snakes.

I was concerned about how the orange would match the olive blank, but I like it a lot! No trim thread, just clean and simple - it's a tool to catch fish.

Here's the question: TFO claims the factory rod weighs 2.9 ounces, however this build comes in at about an ounce more! The seat hardware I used weighed only a bit over an ounce so I can't see how they can build the same blank down that light. I just ordered a used factory version so I can verify their claims.

Anyway, pics:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

_SHig

Mike Ediger and atomic dog like this.
  2. Rob Ast

Rob Ast Active Member

The rust thread looks great with that, and matches the reel seat spacer as well. If I remember correctly the BVK comes with REC guides and strippers, so maybe they save a little weight there. Let us know what you find out.

3. Alexander

Alexander Fishon

Very nice! In that first picture Miami Hurricanes came to mind! ;). The colors look great!

4. Roger Nott

Roger Nott Member

I think the factory BVKs have a carbon fiber reel seat and I have no idea what those weigh but that isn’t going to make an ounce difference. Your seat is typical at one ounce. Usually about 2/3 skeleton and 1/3 wood insert. I don’t see anything about that rod that says heavy. Did you re-cal the scale and re-weigh. I don’t doubt 2.9 for the factory rod but for a nice clean build like yours to weigh 3.9 ounces surprises me a bit.

5. SHigSpeed

SHigSpeed Active Member