Fishin' Buddy portable fishfinder with side-scan

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by u2ill, Mar 27, 2008.

1. u2ill

u2ill Playing on the Palouse

Home Page:
    I was just wondering if anybody has used any of these Fishin' Buddy portable fish finders with their pontoon boat or float tube?

They have side-scan sonar that can supposedly see fish in shallow water up to 120ft from the unit. That seems like it could be useful. But I've heard some claims that these types of side-scan units are not very reliable.

Anyone have experience with these?

2. Denny

Denny Active Member

Media:
    The side scan is the best feature! :thumb:

These units are great for identifying depth and contours.

3. Dick Warnke

Dick Warnke was Pram-Man

I have one but havn't had a chance to use it yet. Glad to see Richards comments. As I have heard others have some pretty discouraging things to say about them.

4. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

I have been using the same one for over 10 years now with nary a problem. I don't use it as a fishfinder though and keep the alarm in the off position. For determining depth, dropoffs and temps it has been flawless. I have packed it in to many a lake with my float tube and it has been handled pretty roughly over the years. For the pontoon boat I use a far more sophisticated model with a wider cone angle which is more suitable for fish finding. Ive

5. sportsman

sportsman Active Member