fishing for cutts in the salt

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by smd, Dec 31, 2004.

1. i was wondering i am relatively new to fly fishing. i was thinking about fishing the salt for cutts. just wondering if any one has any experience with poppers with a floating line and which ones to try. i have a floater and a intermediate clear line from airflo would this be sufficient.

2. Hey smd,

There are lots of guys here who do well for cutties and resident silvers in the salt, all over the Sound; it's been discussed quite a bit, so if you use the search function on the forum for the keywords 'SRC', 'sea-run cutthroat', etc. you'll find quite a bit of information, including rigging and specific patterns for time of year, etc.

From the knowledge I've gained, your intermediate and floating lines are ideal. I hear that poppers get a lot of action but you get a lower hook-up to strike ratio; traditional clousers work really well as attractors, and herring or sand-lance patterns when they are keying in on bait.

There are many others on this board who have literally written books on the subject (like the legendary Les Johnson, Fly-Fishing Coastal Cutthroat Trout), and they've contributed a lot in the past, so do a quick search, or better yet, support 'em and pick up their books... good luck!

-Jim

3. We arent snubbing you here, just steering you into an adventure in learning. If you see the toolbar above, and click on "Search", you can enter the words "Sea Run Cutthroat", "Beach Fishing", "SRC fishing", "South Sound Beaces" etc.

Any possible reference to the venerable sea run coastal cutthroat trout will ellicit a host of references via our Search function.

On the "Knowledge Base" pages of this site there is a Book Review on Les Johnson's new book; "Fly Fishing Coastal Cutthroat Trout", as well as an article by Greg Tims on Flyfishing for Sea Run Cutthroats.

If you start reading all that now, you'll be finished studying in time for spring season on the saltchuck. :ray1: