Fishing the lakes

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by fsbii, May 28, 2002.

1. fsbii

fsbii New Member

Until June 1st i am concentrating on lakes in the area. Located in issaquah, i have tried a number of lakes, but most recently has been Rattlesnake lake and Pine lake. I am somewhat new to fly fishing the lakes, spending more time on the running water, so i have some questions. Rattlesnake lake the other day was fishing well with slow moving green wooly-bugger. Non-stop action, all be it they were 10 inch cuts, and a couple fat bows. This was my first time up there, and i was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how i could step up and catch some bigger fish out there? Big fan of dry flies as well.

Pine Lake on the other hand, i have fished more with a lure. I know there are some good sized bows and browns out there, having caught them throughout my childhood. But how would i go about hooking these on the fly rod? I threw a couple dry flies out there last year but results were nothing to talk about over a cold.

Am i fishing decent lakes, any other killer lakes i need to try? Any info would be more than appreciated, i respect everyones advice, thanks.

2. fly15

fly15 New Member

If you want to get into some bigger trout you better head east to the tons of lakes over there with the average trout around 16-20" inches