Fishing the stilly what am I doing Wrong

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Ryan Couch, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Hi everyone,

I am new to fly fishing and have tried fishing up to Boardman creek down to the Jordan bridge just outside of granite falls I have used wollybuggers and Elk hair caddis and stimmulaters on the top of the water also under water slow and fast retrieve I can see all kinds of bug life in the water with what also looks like bass fry maybe near the banks they are little green with spots fry near the rocks so looks like good fish water. Any help?

2. Punctuation might get you more responses. Just a suggestion...

3. What shape is the water in. Is it high and really moving down hill. Or is it slow moving. Is it murky or is it clear.

Just going and fishing it without knowing about it. It's hard to offer any help.

4. The water is low really clear moving at a good pace, the river has been going down everyday about 3 to 4 in of bank is more exposed everyday. Lots of bug life in and out of water.

5. When I lived in Washington state I used to wait until the river dropped into shape.Some years it was early and some years not so early. I believe that this is one of those not so early years. Still lots of snow high up. Try the river abut mid July or the first of August. Same flies

Also the river is easy to wade upstream of Boardman Creek. If you are of strong body, give Boardman Creek a try. You have to hike up a ways but fishing improves the farther you get from the mouth.

6. I tried to hike up boardman logs are everywhere, and cant hike at all up it deep deep pools with logs blocking the path. Would need to chop a trail along side of it to gain any access but will give the river till then and try some more. Oh and the creek is flowing hard right now makes wading a pain and I am of strong body but need a different attack approach to gain access to boardman.