Float tubes vs. Pontoon boats

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Matt Hutch, Sep 8, 2009.

1. Matt Hutch

Matt Hutch Member

Hey, I just moved to Spokane for college and I would really like to do some fishing around here but from what I have been told there is a lot of lake fishing and most of it requires a boat of some sort. I have never fished from a boat so I don't know much about them but I would like to get one so that it would open up some more options for me as far as places I can fish. I am a college student so I don't have a house or a lot of room to keep anything. I would imagine that a pontoon boat is easier to cast from and less work to move but I'm not sure if I have the room to store a pontoon boat or the money to buy one. Can anyone give me some advice?

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Tony Mull

Tony Mull Member

Media:
    you might start with a float tube, waders, fins and life jacket. you'll need all that anyway when you eventually move up to a pontoon. you'll fall back to that float tube when you want to fish lakes that are hike in. A tube is much easier to break down and set up and stores easily. the cheapest way to go too.

3. Kent Lufkin

Kent Lufkin Remember when you could remember everything?

Media:
    Tony's right - get a float tube first and it will open up a lot of options for you in terms of being able to fish stillwaters effectively. While the price of pontoons has dropped dramatically lately, they have several pros and cons compared with float tubes.

On the con side: pontoons are still more expensive (usually); they sit up higher out of the water, so less resistence under the waterline turns your body into a sail in windy conditions, making it more difficult to maintain position; and, they're bulkier and heavier, thus more difficult to transport and store.