fly testing

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by ken2cross, Mar 6, 2013.

1. ken2cross

ken2cross Member

I just got the idea to test some of my ties. I dropped them in a glass full of water to see how they float.
    I was disappointed because most didn't float upright and some didn't float at all. Granted there was no leader attached and I hadn't added any floatant. I was expecting better.

This may sound like a dumb question but I've been tying for about 3 or 4 years and never tried this before.
    Any thoughts?
    Ken

2. riseform

riseform Active Member

Media:
    You could always post a pic of the flies and likely get some input into the design and any potential flaws. Otherwise, I'd agree with your thought and see what the fish think when they're on the end of a line.

I remember the first fly I ever tied and saved in my box for years. I tied it on in Alaska and offered it to a pod of rising grayling only to watch it being hit repeatedly without ever hooking the fish. It was floating at a weird angle and essentially useless except for making me laugh.

3. Shawn West

Shawn West Active Member

Media:
    I am curious to know what flies you were testing. It should not matter if you had a leader attached or not. Your dry flies should float without floatant. Without seeing your flies, I am figuring it could be a few things. Are you using light shank hooks? If your flies are dubbed, what type of dubbing are you using? Both of these items will have a great impact on the floatability of your dry flies. There are other factors, but these two items would be the first two I would look at.

Shawn

4. GAT

GAT Dumbfounded

I did a lot of pattern testing when I had an aquarium set up in the garage. I built a tiny "rod" for casting the patterns into the aquarium to simulate field conditions... it's amazing how many patterns did not float as they were designed to float.