friggin steelhead

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Sean Beauchamp, Jan 28, 2009.

1. logged another long, cold (well. not that cold) day yesterday on an S river. not that it matters which S river as all of them serve me up nothing but whities, rocks and logs. i seriously, no joke hooked and landed 2 (two) actual rocks. miraculous. both took my egg dropper dead drift and were bonked and tossed in my pocket, adi intact.

i know this is my first winter so i really cannot bitch about being 0-fer but seriously this is a frustrating game. im not a pro by any means but i can read water. i can present a fly. it just feels like there is NOTHING there.

i have zero confidence. i stopped expecting a hook up awhile ago. when my fly hits the "sweet spot" (do i even know what that is???) my butthole doesnt even pucker. its sad. bawling:

2 things i know would help with my current fishless status:
    1) drift boat
    2) spey

my single hander (maybe its mental) but i feel like im disadvantaged big time on the big water of the sky or skagit, therefore ive been sticking to smaller water.

oh well. im laid off and my unemployment benefits are finally straightened out after 3 weeks of hassle so i should have some income next week. im packin my shit as we speak. im gonna crash in west seattle for the rest of the week and terrorize the beaches for rezzies to get my swagger back. next week, i think im gonna go crash on my aunt's couch in PA and try again over on the bogey and the duc for the week.

at least exploring a new river brings its own rewards. :beathead:

ps, tilt + pickled herring = breakfast of champions.

Attached Files:

2. Cool read Sean. Not sure about that breakfast combo, barf. Stand by for people to bash on you for wasting their time reading your post. I appreicate reading posts of futile trips so that I know I'm not alone. Best of luck with the job market first, the afore mentioned fishing plan second and that elusive winter steelhead third.