NFR Gaming Laptops?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Mark Walker, Oct 9, 2012.

1. Mark Walker Active Member

So. Cal.
    Ratings: +201 / 1
    Pretty NFR!
    Any members here wizards on these things?
    I'm lost when it comes to these!
    PM's will do.
    Thanks.......
  2. Flyborg Active Member

Kalama, WA
    Ratings: +583 / 0
    Dell has some decent ones. Alienware is overpriced but will do the job. Personally, I hate gaming on a laptop, but they definitely travel.

Edit: Looks like Toshiba and Asus have some gamer laptops--I trust Asus brand quite a bit as a long time consumer of their hardware. I only buy Asus and Toshiba laptops at work, so I expect their gaming rigs are decent.
  3. David Dalan 69°19'15.35" N 18°44'22.74" E

Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings: +619 / 0
    I'm an IT geek by trade and a long time PC gamer. So first thing I'll say is, unless $ is no object, gaming and laptop are still kind of an oxymoron. HOWEVER, it depends greatly on what kind of games you want to play. Are we talking online solitaire and 21 or are we talking WoW, Elder Scrolls and Crysis 2?

No matter what you buy, a solid state hard disk will make a world of improvement for the laptop's performance. We've been retrofitting (upgrading) works systems with excellent results. I added a Solid State Drive (SSD) to a 2009 Apple I own (I use/support both PC and Apple) and it was night and day.

Let me know what you want to run on it, and I'd be glad to give specific suggestions (I offer no guarantees).
  4. IveofIone Active Member

Ratings: +887 / 0
    Damn, Mark! If you had purchased that place on Houghton Street we would be fishing every day and you wouldn't have time for this nonsense. Eight fish yesterday 15 -21" and out again tomorrow at daybreak.

Have fun punchin' keys, I'll be washing fish slime fish off instead.

Ive
    constructeur likes this.
  5. fisherjon Member

Oak Harbor,Washington
    Ratings: +13 / 0