Good place for beginners...fly recommendations?

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by jdogburke, Sep 7, 2002.

1. I'm very new to flyfishing and live in the Spokane area. Are there any sure-fire rivers, lakes, or streams where I might have some luck and build some confidence?

Any fly-pattern recommendations for the lakes and rivers this Fall?
    :DUNNO

jdogburke

2. Hopefully this won't be "The blind leading the blind." I'm also new to Fly Fishing and pretty new to spokane as well. But hopefully this will get the ball rolling and some of the more experienced guys can correct me.

My first experience with Fly fishing in spokane was in the Spokane River. I almost always fish at Mirabeau Point which is near the Valley Mall. I usually end up there simply because it's within 10 minutes of home and work. I usually fish an Elk Hair caddis or a wooley bugger. But lately the midges seem to be taking over. I have to warn you, being a novice I've found this area (more specifically the fish here) to be very frustrating.

If you just want to catch some fish and have some fun I would try Horseshoe lake. You can check out www.washingtonlakes.com for info and directions. The lake is rather small, but I would suggest a boat or tube. When I was there a few weeks ago I caught a half dozen bows (all on an Elk Hair caddis) between 6:30 and 8:00 pm. Most of the fish were around 10 inches but one or two were close to 14. It was a lot of fun to go fishing and actually catch something for once.

If you have some time to do some camping you might want to cruise up to Newport and check out No Name lake. If you go make sure you have some renegades in your fly box. You'd probably do well with an Adams too. This lake was a lot of fun a was my intro to cutthroat fishing.

I hope that's not too much boring info :CONFUSED.

3. Both of you are