Grande Ronde HELP 11/2-11/4

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Nate Dutton, Oct 29, 2007.

1. Nate Dutton

Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Media:
    Hey fellas heading down to the Ronde for some steel here on thurs night. I am tryto to land my first steelhead on the fly down there so any help would be appreicated. We are going to camp around bogans area and will fish below bogans and up to cottonwood. Some generic fly choices for nymphting would be apperciated since this will be my first time exclusivley fly fishing this river. I have been gear chucking there for 6 or 7 years so i know the water pretty well. Any help would be awesome! and if any of you are going to down there maybe we could fish an afternoon or moning together! Thanks in advance.

2. PT

PT Physhicist

Typical response here. Have you done a search for the info you seek? You'll find years worth of info if you're willing to sort thru it.

Glo-bugs, stoneflies, yarn on a hook, chenille on a hook, dubbing on a hook, any large standard trout nymph (PT, Prince Nymph, Hare's Ear, etc) will all work. Confidence is probably more important than which fly you have on. In that case I'd call a flyshop and ask which specific pattern they'd recommend and then just stick with it. If they have confidence in a pattern then you should too. All you need is a willing fish and the right presentation. Steelhead are a pretty easy fish to catch if they're around.

3. David Dalan

David Dalan 69°19'15.35" N 18°44'22.74" E

Media:
    From you post it seems you're looking for some rigging advice. If so, my $0.02 is below, if not...ignore me.

If all else fails throw and orange (my fav) or pink (prolly a better color choice) weighted Girdle Bug (with lots of wiggly rubber, say on a size 4) and a trailer that is a smaller, less shocking nymph (prince, bead head, size 8-10). Another good weighted fly is a black Egg Sucking Leech (or black wooly bugger).