Gun Safety and Training advice needed For 686 Onyx 20G

Discussion in 'Cast & Blast' started by Tacoma Red, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Tacoma Red Active Member

Kitsap
    Ratings: +291 / 0
    I'll be receiving a very nice Beretta 20G 686 Onyx from a friend who recently passed. His wife told me he has willed it to me. A very great guy.

I'm not experienced with guns and shooting but I'd like to, at least to honor him but I also have been interested in picking up the sport. I'd like to start right and keep it that way and there might be some handguns and rifles that I might buy from her too.

Could you recommend gun safety classes and training ranges in the Kitsap area, from Bainbridge to Bremerton/Silverdale and North Kitsap that would offer all the proper training?

Thanks,
    TR
  2. zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Moses Lake, WA
    Ratings: +959 / 1
    check your local area for a shotgun range, trap or skeet, and they could probably get you started. Most of the time it's easy to get a more seasoned member/shooter to accompany you around the various stations.
  3. Roper Idiot Savant

Glenraven Ranch
    Ratings: +770 / 1
    martyg is a forum member here that can help, he's in your neighborhood too...PM him, tell him I threw him under the bus...
  4. Islander Steve

Langley, Wa..
    Ratings: +180 / 6
    Good call Rick, the only club I'm aware of in that area is the Kitsap Rifle & Revolver Club. I'm sure they have some sort of training but they don't have shotgun facilities.
  5. Bob Rankin Active Member

Yakima, WA
    Ratings: +167 / 1
    Sorry to hear about your friend but that is a fine shotgun and good on you for wanting to honor him buy putting it to use. There is nothing worse than a firearm that doesn't get used! I wish I could help with a class for you but am not familiar with the area, but gun safety is a greet start.
  6. Tacoma Red Active Member

Kitsap