headed to Rocky Ford Creek Sunday

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Drysuperfly, Mar 13, 2014.

1. Drysuperfly

Drysuperfly Member

I am headed to Rocky ford creek this Sunday to get away from the rain and general Seattle weather. I have been there a hand full of time over the last 8 years and I think my fish count stands at 4, 2 caught on fake egg patterns and the other 2 on a big old white bunny tails streamer. I always get looks with my different presentations but I can never seem to get consistent action, I usually use fluorocarbon line about 4-8 pound test. (I am a self taught fly fisherman that looses so many leaders using the pre-made tapered lines it gets pricy )
    I will be fishing from about first light until around 2. I usually fish the upper area around the bridge, but sometimes venture down to the rapids.

any pointers for a newb would be greatly appreciated. as of right now I have my sinking line and a lineup of woolly buggers, san Juan worms, and eggs.

Thanks

2. jjaims

jjaims Make fishin’ your mission

I'm no rocky ford expert but the last two times iv done pretty well with # 14 olive scud under an indicator (as small as possible) in the morning and a #10 olive bugger in the afternoon .

Duane J likes this.
  3. John Wallace

John Wallace Active Member

Brother and I were there a couple of weeks ago. The was a small hatch going on. Hook a lot of small ones and broke off a couple big ones on dries in the size 16 and 14.

4. triploidjunkie

triploidjunkie Active Member

Media:
    I don't think I'd ever use a sinking line there. Sometimes I use a clear intermediate when chucking streamers, but I don't think it's necessary. Should be able to handle about every situation there with a floater. Scuds, whether under an indicator, sight fished, or slooooowly stripped, is probably the most consistent method. All I ever use is 8lb fluoro unless I'm using dries. Then I might go a little smaller.

Patrick Gould likes this.
  5. Drysuperfly