Help choose lake boat

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Josh Smestad, Feb 3, 2010.

1. Josh Smestad

Josh Smestad aka Mtnwkr

Getting my tax return and was thinking of getting myself a little boat. I always wanted a jon boat with an electric trolling motor for lake fishing, is that the best option for fly fishing out of though? Looking for something stable enough to stand and cast in with room for a second person or sometimes my dog. Would a 12' row boat be stable enough(I know where I could get one with trailer in good shape) or should I be looking for a little pram? Thanks for your expertise on the subject, I'm new to boating.

2. FlyBC

FlyBC New Member

A good used boat would be a Harbercraft Flyfisher and if you are looking to buy new the Spratley would be a really good choice as it is fully welded.
    http://www.spratleyboats.com/index.htm

3. Guy Gregory

Guy Gregory Active Member

"I always wanted a jon boat with an electric trolling motor for lake fishing"

Well, then. Yes, it will hold you and your dog, yes it will do what you want, likely better than a 9 ' pram (though they're really nice, too). Get what you always wanted. It won't be your last.

4. jcalderon

jcalderon Member

Great thread. It was like you read my mind. I too, have been thinking Jon boat, or pram. id definitely love to be able to launch over on possesion and circle the island inshore as well.....

5. yellowlab

yellowlab Active Member

I loved my 10' Koffler whitewater pram. If I had the $$$ I'd buy another in the wide back version. Probably THE most widest and stable platform for you and your dog. I'll have to suffice with my Springcreek for now...

6. willieboat

willieboat Member

Get the salt water trolling motor. You will want to fish in the salt.

Don

7. jcalderon

jcalderon Member

Whats the general consensus on a 12' koffler pram? I think this would make a great lake platform, and still perform well on rivers. Plenty of room for your dog and gear.

8. Jim Wallace