Help me Bros!

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by alki, Aug 24, 2012.

1. alki

alki New Member

OK, so I am new to the Spey thing and am still trying to get the casting mechanics down. What is now clear to me is that the casting mechanics can only be perfected if the rods are lined correctly. I have visited several fly shops and gotten different advice from each one. So I would very much appreciate any input on rod lining from all you Speyheads out there who are casting the two current rods that I have. Currently I have two Sage Brownies, a 13' 6" 8 weight and a 11' 3" 8 weight Switch rod. I am mainly using them for Beach Casting. I suspect that I will want to look at different rod weights in the future however these are the rods I would like to use while learning the casting mechanics. It would be much appreciated hearing from anyone out there that are casting these rods as to what lines you are using.

Many Thanks to all the responders!

2. fredaevans

fredaevans Active Member

Be-Bop over to RIO's web site, Simon has extensive list of rod-line parings for their products. As yours are 'browies' they're obviously older rods (the reference to a brownie switch rod has me scratching my head). See what he suggests.

Back up a second here for a bit of clarity. The term 'Brownie' normally refers to Sages first Generation of spey rods; how old (rod designations) are yours?

I assume you're over head casting when you use the term 'beach casting?' Correct/incorrect? If so, for Jollies take a regular single hander line (WF) and up-line by two and give that a try. Takes far more grains to load a 2-hander than a one hander. (8wt spey = 10 wt single hander)

fae

Nooksack Mac likes this.
  3. alki

alki New Member

Thank you for your reply FAE

The Sage 13' 6" rod is a Sage graphite IIIe blank while the 11' 3" Switch rod is a Gary Anderson rod made from a Sage graphite IIIb blank. The Switch rod is definitely
    older than the 13' 6" rod.