Help me out!! I need some coho love

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Jason Rolfe, Sep 5, 2012.

1. Jason Rolfe Wanderer

the beach
    Ratings: +373 / 0
    Alright,

I'm getting frustrated. This is my first year fishing for coho in the sound. I've hit Lincoln park three times in the last week--twice in the AM (6-10 ish) and once in the evening (6-after sunset).

I'm not getting a darned thing. I realize 3 times out may not be much, and maybe I'm just not getting into the fish. But I thought I'd check in with folks for any advice on gear/presentation, etc.

Lincoln park seems to drop off pretty steep out at the point. I've tried a couple different things--Floating line, ~9 ft leader, and Chartreuse clouser; Sinktip (15 ft, I think), ~6ft leader, chartreuse clouser.

I guess my main question is: how long of a leader should I be trying to fish, and should I be trying to get the fly deep (using the sinktip) or do you think I'm fine sticking with the floating tip, or maybe a clear intermediate?

Mainly, I want some tips so that I can fish with a bit more confidence. If there is a certain set up that seems to work best for people, I'd love to hear about it.

(On a side note, I saw some cutts jumping at LP last night, tied on a popper, and had a bunch of hits on it--so that was fun.)

Thanks for the help guys.

Jason
  2. mtskibum16 Active Member

Puget Sound Beaches
    Ratings: +209 / 0