Help! Newbie in Arlington

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Michhael, Jul 5, 2002.

1. Michhael

Michhael New Member

Hi: I'm new to the sport....my kids are now in college and now have some time to try fishing again. I have been at McMurrey and Armstrong up in the Arlington area, plus a bit at Shoecraft and Ki.

Not having great results in either my float tube:(I keep it in my minivan now that I dont haul kids to soccer and basketball and cheer events)...or my 12 ft. boat. Ive used sink lines with wolly buggers and various flys.

Is there someone in my area that needs a fishing partner/student? or could give me advice on a good local lake.. and the method.

2. on the fly

on the fly New Member

Don-on the fly :THUMBSUP
    Michhael,
    Try Pass lake over by deception pass. this is a good place to start as there are plenty of good size fish and it is a flyfishing only lake. put in at the boat ramp on the south end of the lake. tie on a black, brown or olive maribuea leach, about size 6L or 8L. sink it to the bottom and them strip or troll very slow. I have caught a lot of fish there this year, last saturday most recently, using those flies. you could also try choronomids in black or a brassie or something with a red body. you'll see most of the other fishermen on the lake using choronomids with varying degrees of success. I prefer the leaches or damsels or wooly buggers myself. just keep in mind that the fish are going to be closer to the bottom even though you might see an occasional fish rise.
    kick around the southern half of the lake until you get a strike, which usually are pretty light. once you've hooked the fish hold on as they are very good fighters. The 'bows will come up toward your tube then take a mad dash back toward the bottom or dance on the surface and then take a run. Don't play them too long as this is a catch and release fishery.