Hobie Mirage Kayak info needed

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by 6wt, Sep 14, 2012.

1. I am looking at buying a kayak to flyfish for salmon and also for rockfish. I have no experience with yaks. Does anyone have a Hobie Mirage or other type of yak they could share thier pros/cons?
    Thanks!
    Craig

2. I don't have one, but a friend of mine does and really likes it. He goes a lot faster with the Mirage than I do in my OK Drifter, and likes the fact that his hands are free. He's used it in the saltwater for at least 4 years, and by rinsing with fresh water after every use, has no rust on the pedal mechanism. Based on my observation, you'd definitely want to use a stripping basket to keep the line from tangling in the pedal mechanism.

The NW Kayak Anglers web site and forum may be a good source of info for you. http://www.northwestkayakanglers.com/index.php

Tom

3. I had the 16ft sailing version with self furling sail, outriggers, etc. They are fast and efficient. You do have to be careful not to run aground with the flippers. The flippers and stainless rods inside are user servicable, but expensive to replace. I just found the outrigger model to be so big and heavy that I didn't use it as much. If i had bought one of the subsequently released dedicated fishing versions I would still own it.

4. Think about where you will be fishing. I spend time fishing deep in the kelp and any drive would be a no go. You can paddle a Hobie "kayak" but then you have the drive taking up space in the kayak and I've never heard a Hobie owner talk about how well they paddle.

With standard sit on top you never have to worry about hanging up a drive in shallow water or having your fly line tangled under the boat.

5. I am just learning kayak fishing. I love my Wilderness Systems Ride 135. No pedaling experience, but paddling has proven fun and healthy for me.