Hoh River Wild Steelhead Run Fails Again!

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Bob Triggs, Oct 2, 2013.

1. Bob Triggs Your Preferred Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guide

Olympic Peninsula
    Ratings: +655 / 0
  2. Sean Beauchamp Hot and Heavy at yer 6

Shoreline, WA, U.S.
    Ratings: +468 / 1
    Of course not. The poor river needs a management plan. I'm no scientist but I'm quite sure it's difficult to successfully spawn when you swim into a gill net. Last spring on into June was brutal/disgusting to watch, reading the number 2,218 made my stomach drop. The state and tribe have got to work together end of story!
  3. _WW_ Fishes with Wolves

Skagit River
    Ratings: +648 / 0
    Take heart, the species is being "banked" and preserved in the Skagit. Lots of fish and no fishermen...sweeping federal regulations at work. Be careful what you wish for...closures are easy...getting them re-opened is nearly impossible...even when the feds agree with you.
  4. Smalma Active Member

Marysville, Washington
    Ratings: +657 / 0
    The Hoh river wild steelhead have not failed.

It is the management of that resource that has failed!!!!

Curt
  5. sopflyfisher Active Member

Where the fish are located
    Ratings: +448 / 0
    we obviously need more nets and masses of side drifters catching wild fish four or five times. then throw in a heavy mass of random "fly" guides with bobbers and you get this. perhaps some more press about the river being the in place to fish would be sweet too. almost every time I've fished here I've wondered what the hell am i doing here. unfishable in my opinion in spring. not that i could give two rips about how anyone chooses to fish, but perhaps this river would benefit from a no fishing from a boat rule. I've watched people repeatedly pound spots day after day catching the same fish again and again. maybe some sanctuary water would benefit the fish some.
    xdog and bennysbuddy like this.
  6. Jason Rolfe Wanderer

the beach