How much Coat-it will i need for my beat up old driftboat?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by northidaho, Apr 25, 2013.

1. northidaho

northidaho New Member

Anyone have experience with this stuff? I wanna coat the bottom and about 4 inchs up the sides on a older 16 foot Drift boat i bought. Would a 8lb kit be enough or should i buy more ? Thanks in advance ! =)

2. WABOWMAN

WABOWMAN Active Member

Where did you find it?

3. northidaho

northidaho New Member

The coat-it? Or the boat?

4. Patrick Gould

Patrick Gould Active Member

Media:
    I'm a wooden boat builder. That's not a product that's commonly used in the greater boat building world. I'm not sure if it's good stuff or not, it's just not something that I have experience with. I do, however use lots of epoxy with a graphite additive. It's great for adding durability to the bottom of the boat. It's not something that I would use to stop leaks though. For a 16' I would start out with a gallon and a half and go from there. Expect some serious sanding and fairing.

5. Jim Wallace

Jim Wallace Smells like low tide

Patrick, I think that Coat-It is an epoxy and graphite product.
    Do you know if epoxy/graphite can be applied over old gel-coat, if I fill in the pukas and deeper scratches before I prep-sand the hull?
    I was thinking of doing that to the bottom of my glass mini-drifter.

6. Patrick Gould

Media:
    I guess my reply was confusing. I meant to convey that I haven't used the particular product, but the concept of epoxy with graphite is standard.

You can do the epoxy/graphite over the gel-coat, but you'll need a barrier coat first. Interlux or Pettit are good brands of barrier. Any decent marine store will have it.

7. northidaho

northidaho New Member