How to cast by multi-tip line

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Tac, Jan 22, 2002.

1. Tac

Tac New Member

I am a novice fly angler.
    Recently I bought a multi-tip line for steelhead. It seemed to be nice.
    The lines has a knot of loop at one terminal. The it is easy to change the tip to diffrent sinkings or floating tips.

I tried to cast with it at real river and found it is a bit hard to cast.
    Because the line has some lines, floating + sinking + leader + tipett.

The main problem is a knot between floating and sinking lines by loop-and loop knot. It occures some resistance to guide, not smooth, then it is harder to cast than one sinking line without knot.

Give me some advice.

Thanks,
    Tac

2. ChucknDuck

ChucknDuck New Member

Welcome to the world of factory loop conections. I have several Rio Versi-Tips and find that the loops hang up in the tip constantly. For close in fishing they are not the most pleasant thing to deal with unfortunately. Something they don't tell you when you are purchasing.

For anyone looking to purchase a multi tip type of line there is an ad on the virtual flyshop's classified section for Cortalnd Quad and Tri tips from 7 wt. to Spey lines for $48. FYI

Go Cougars!!

3. KerryS

KerryS Ignored Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Tac,

You don't say whether you are casting a two or single hander. If you are casting a single hander. Try stripping the line up to where your connection is still outside the tip or maybe even leave more line out. You will need to adjust the amount of line you leave out of the rod tip to find what works for your rod and casting style. Roll cast the line 90 degrees directly in front of you then, with one back cast, haul and shoot your line on the forward cast.

KLS

4. Rob Blomquist

Rob Blomquist Formerly Tight Loops

Media: