Hunting Reds in Everglades National Park

Discussion in 'Trip Reports with Pics' started by biker_dd, Nov 11, 2013.

1. I recently returned from an awesome week in Key Largo, took the opportunity to go out with a guide for a couple of days of backcountry fishing for reds in the flats.

I've never done that kind of fishing before, all sight casting to fish. It's different, and I wouldn't say it took me long to get the idea, I'd just say that I'm not a particularly accurate caster. I told my guide ahead of time that he would need to have a lot of patience with me, and he did.

He put me on fish, and I screwed most of them up. I had a knack for landing flies and line right over the top of the fish, or I'd be 20' away. But hell, when it worked and I could make a proper cast, it was awesome! What a sight to see those big fish gobble a fly and then take off.

I managed to land a few and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Can't wait to get back and do it again.

Saw quite a few large snook as well, even managed to have one take a fly, only to get way too excited and yank it out of it's mouth with what my guide described as 'an excellent NW trout hook set.' Also got a small speckled trout and caught a few small barracuda from the dock where I was staying.

Other sightings included some bottle nose dolphins chasing schools of mullet, quite a few manatees and some large sting rays. I also rented a kayak and paddled myself around John Pennekamp State Park, where I saw a nice tarpon cruising through the mangroves and a green sea turtle swam along beside me for a while.

IMG_0104.JPG IMG_0087.JPG IMG_0089.JPG IMG_0107.jpg IMG_0098.jpg IMG_0066.JPG

Get Some, McNasty, DimeBrite and 7 others like this.
  2. Sweet! Reds are high on my list!

3. Did you get to see the dolphin making mud nets to trap the mullet and then pick them out of the air when the mullet try to jump the mud net? Very cool and a trick that only the dolphin in Florida Bay have learned to do.