I need help identifying old materials

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by ComeOnSounders, Feb 21, 2014.

1. ComeOnSounders Member

Seattle
    Ratings: +17 / 0
    So I'm new to the fly tying game and I'm hooked. Big time. I've been fortunate enough to have been given some old fly tying materials. I've been having pretty good luck sorting through all of it and figuring out what everything is and what will be usable. Some of it I've been able to google and identify, and others I'm having a harder time. I was thinking this would be a good place to find some help and save me some time guessing. So here's a pic of some of them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Mike Cline Fly Fishing Guerilla

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +3 / 0
    Left to right:

Badger, moose mane, squirrel tail, deer, deer, badger, badger

I may be off on the first or last 2.

The first could be opossum fur
  3. ScottP Active Member

Ratings: +882 / 0
    I think the last 2 are fox fur; I agree with Mike on the others.

Regards,
    Scott
  4. GAT Active Member

Willamette Valley, OR
    Ratings: +2,685 / 0
    I also believe the last two are fox and there is a possibility the first one is raccoon... but I'm just going by photos in tying material catalogs.

I don't use badger or raccoon... both are mean critters and don't like to be shaved....
    Teenage Entomologist likes this.
  5. zen leecher aka bill w born to work, forced to fish

Moses Lake, WA
    Ratings: +1,030 / 1
    I'd call the first coon and the last two badger.
  6. ComeOnSounders Member

Seattle
    Thanks guys!

Couple more questions. Will some materials get to old to use? What are the rules on older polar bear? When did laws start prohibiting it in the US, and is it okay to have some that was obtained prior to the current laws?
  7. Teenage Entomologist Gotta love the pteronarcys.

Red Bluff, CA
    Ratings: +216 / 0