I received some fly rods, need help with info please.

Discussion in 'Bamboo, Fiberglass & Classic Reels' started by Alexander, Feb 7, 2014.

1. Alexander

Alexander Fishon

Media:
    I received some fly rods today some bamboo and one glass. I have little knowledge in this field and was wondering if anyone here could lend a hand. On a few things.

Rod worth (Is it worth something in the sense of collectors item or does it not have much $$ value?)
    Line Weight
    Rod use (one of them has an extra tip but it's different)

First is a pic of all the rods I took delivery of today, only 3 of them appear to be fly rods, 3 light spinning rods and 5 pretty beefy rods 3 glass 2 bamboo. However since this is an FF forum I'll only ask help with the fly rods. If anyone wishes to help with the others let me know, those beefy bamboo rods are stout! Anyway, here we go.

Pic of all the rods
    [​IMG]

Next: Gladding South Bend Outdoorsman, Action Tested fiberglass Made in the U.S.A 1-432-286 8'6". I searched online but have no idea how to ID that string of numbers other than the rod length. Trying to find out the weight of this rod. What little I've found seems to say it's a 6wt, but that rod looked slightly different. Is it worth anything? I'm clueless, it looks cheap, but maybe because it's older it has added value? :D
    [​IMG]
    Here a link to more images of that rod
    <iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s28.photobucket.com/user/LoneTreeGuy/embed/slideshow/Gladding South Bend Glass 1-432-286"></iframe>

Here a Milward Bamboo fly rod measured at 9'2" with a funny extra tip, shorter than the other one and with a different tip-top. I figure a dual purpose rod.
    [​IMG]
    And here a link to more images
    <iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://s28.photobucket.com/user/LoneTreeGuy/embed/slideshow/Milward Bamboo"></iframe>

Here an Allcocks Popular Fly Rod Made in England measuring at 9'1"
    [​IMG]
    And here a link to more images