Indian Island/Marrowstone Island, Pt. Townsend

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Cliff, Aug 29, 2013.

1. Hello,

This is my first post in the saltwater forum. I'm looking for advice. I will be spending some time kayaking the waters around Marrowstone Island and to a lesser degree Indian Island this coming weekend. I'm well aware of the Naval security at Indian Island. I've heard that coho should start appearing soon, and also that chinook can be caught almost year round in the area. I'm planning on taking a steelhead gear rod, as well as an 8wt fly rod. I've never fished in this manner before and I was hoping I could get some advice as to gear, flies, tactics, etc.

Thank you very much,
    Cliff

Bob Triggs likes this.
  2. I'm just starting out with saltwater flyfishing myself and I recommend spending a few hours browsing these forums for old posts. I found a lot of information here that has helped me get going and to actually hook and land my first flyrod salmon. Since you will be in the Marrowstone/Indian Island area, you might want to stop in at Gig Harbor Fly Shop or Puget Sound Fly Company (if you are driving through Tacoma). The fine folks at either shop can give you a ton of helpful info/advice.

3. There are plenty of fish in that area. On Marrowstone fish the beach by the lighthouse at Ft Flagler. There are other spots all around that area but this is a not so secret one that will have fish.

Tony Abaloney likes this.
  4. There are some pretty big current rips in that area and one could get into trouble pretty easy on a kayak if you are paying more attention to fishing than paddling. There is also some pretty big wakes that come from the shipping lanes and especially when the cruise ships leave in the evening.

Stonefish likes this.
  5. Couldn't agree more. Great spot to fish but I do recall some monster waves crashing the beach. Be careful

Patrick