Inflatable drift boat vs. Pontoon boat

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Jon Brengan, Dec 1, 2007.

1. Jon Brengan

Jon Brengan flyfishing addict

So here's my dilemma, after floating on the Sky a couple weeks ago I've had this overwhelming itch to get a boat that both me and my friends could fish from. The float I did was fairly quick since we ran out of time and daylight, but I need to be able to not only expand my fishing but also allow others that haven't been introduced to fishing to get that "itch" as well. Anyways - I got the OK from the wife, but I want to make sure I'm getting the best boat for me. I want to mainly fish rivers - moving water, but taking it to a lake is a possibility as well. I have limited experience w/ Toons, but have guided out of the drift-style inflatables in Alaska. I like that style more, because of the stability on the water. I want some advice to what others think about the drift-style vs. pontoons. I'm flyfishing not pulling plugs or drifting bait, but will be taking some spoon chuckers (im affeared) in the future then breaking them in to the joys of FFing. Just chime in with your opions please. Any favorites would be appreciated too.

2. FLGator

FLGator Member

I think a drift boat would be your best bet.

However, if you're set on an inflatable I think you'd be better served with a cataraft since you also would like to make it stillwater friendly as well. Outboard power is definately a possiblity with a cataraft.

3. Preston

Preston Active Member