Info on a new rod, please.

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by Rooster7, Jul 24, 2012.

1. Rooster7

Rooster7 Member

Hello, I'm still new to fly fishing and this forum. I have really fallen in love with fly fishing, and was looking at up grading to a new Sage One 590-4 rod, from a Cablea's three fork. Anyone have experance with the Sage or a differnt rod that maybe better? I Haven't casted the Sage One yet only my buddies TXl witch I liked. Thanks in advance and happy Fishing.

2. 5shot

5shot Member

I have the 590-4 and really like it. Took it down to the Casting Rendezvous at the FFF Fair earlier this month and the Master Casting Instructor cast it and thought it was awesome. He even asked to cast it again before I left.

I am not a great caster, but 75', and he was getting close to 90' if I had to guess (the tape stopped at the 75' mark).

It is a really fast rod, but still limber - doesn't feel like a broom stick. If you are going to spend that kind of money though, I would see if you can find one at a shop and cast it on the lawn.

Rooster7 likes this.
  3. troutpocket

troutpocket Active Member

Media:
    Nothing wrong with treating yourself to a big purchase . . . but for the same $$ you could get 3-4 very nice rods and greatly expand your quiver. The used market is full of good deals on last years new models and the budget-friendly manufactures like Echo and TFO are worth a look.

4. dfl

dfl Active Member

If you are spending those $$ check out the web site gattiusa. Those rods are the ultimate.

Rooster7 likes this.
  5. Rooster7

Rooster7 Member

Thanks for all the great info, going down to Cableas this weekend to cast the Sage One. Then I'll head over to Silver Bow and see what they have. I'll let you guys know what I come up with.

6. Mike T

Mike T Active Member